Annette Davis-Smith Memorial and Aaron C. Smith Honorary Scholarship

This scholarship program honors the memory of Dr. Annette Davis-Smith who developed South Plains College’s Associate of Arts in Teaching Degree program and taught in the program for 14 years. It was established by her husband Aaron Smith of Sundown and her mother Sarah A. “Toni” Ivy of Lubbock. The scholarship recognizes an outstanding student enrolled in the AAT program who plans to become a public school teacher. To be considered, applications must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, plan to enroll in at least six semester credit hours in the AAT program, and maintain a minimum 2.50 grade point average. Recipients are chosen for the scholarship by faculty in the program. Dr. Smith was known for her dedication and service to the college and her students. She was instrumental in establishing the transfer partnership between South Plains College and the Texas Tech University College of Education. This partnership was recognized by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board with the Texas Higher Education Star Award in 2008. Dr. Davis-Smith died in 2018.